anatomy UK

Art and creativity inspired by Anatomy and Science

Trabecular Bone Lamp: Dimitri van Lessen

Trabecular-Bone-Lamp

 

This is a great example of 3D printing at it’s best.

Dimitri says:

“We, human beings, are very good in creating our own new shapes and forms, but I think that the most beautiful and complex shapes are still to be found in nature itself. Now, some time ago, one of my colleagues created a 3D model of a trabecular bone. This model had such a complex and amazing internal structure that I was immediately fascinated by it. Since the moment it was made, I always thought this would be a cool model to use as a lamp. For me, this trabecular bone lamp is the perfect combination of “medical meets design”. Due to its complex structure, it is only possible to print this design via 3d printing. Knowing this, I went to look for a nice dataset which I could use to make the design. Once I found one, I realized I was too clumsy in 3D model software to edit this set. So I asked one of my friends, who’s a biomedical engineer, to help me adapting the dataset to a nice square that could be used for the lamp.”

[found on: i.materialise.com]

One comment on “Trabecular Bone Lamp: Dimitri van Lessen

  1. Carol Robbins
    January 17, 2014

    I’d buy that lamp. Nice!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 16, 2014 by in Interiors and furnishing and tagged , , .
